Testimonial by Luc Stevens - Economist with the International and Eurosystem Coordination Service

 

After working for many years as an economist-statistician in the insurance sector, I wanted to take my career in a new direction. My aim was twofold: to work in an institution that contributes to the public interest, and to maintain close contact with the financial world.

My job as an economist in the International Cooperation Service does not only fulfil those goals, it actually surpasses them. Daily monitoring of the issues discussed at European and international level immerses me in international current affairs and causes me to focus on key economic subjects, more specifically in connection with the current economic crisis.

Together with the members of my team, I deal mainly with two types of issue:

- European economic issues discussed by the European Ministers of Finance in the ECOFIN Council; and

- issues discussed at International Monetary Fund level.

I am part of a congenial, dynamic team working efficiently in a friendly atmosphere that respects the balance between professional and family life. During the first few months I had to master the subjects discussed and get to know the international institutions with which we work. After that, I gradually started taking part in international meetings and preparing briefing notes. I also started following discussions on reforms of the European and global financial architecture.

 
Read all testimonials
Luc Stevens

Témoignage de Luc Stevens - Economiste au sein du service coopération internationale et Eurosystème

 

Après avoir travaillé plusieurs années dans le secteur des assurances en tant qu'économiste statisticien, j'ai souhaité donner une nouvelle dimension à ma carrière en tenant compte de deux aspects: m'investir dans une institution qui contribue à l'intérêt général et conserver un contact étroit avec les milieux financiers.

La fonction d'économiste au sein du service coopération internationale me permet de rencontrer ces objectifs et même plus. En effet, le suivi quotidien des dossiers traités au niveau européen et international me plonge au coeur de l'actualité économique internationale et implique que je travaille sur des sujets économiques clés notamment dans le contexte de la crise économique actuelle.

En collaboration avec les membres de mon équipe, je m'occupe principalement de deux types de dossiers:

- d'une part, les dossiers économiques européens discutés à la table des ministres européens des finances dans le cadre de l'ECOFIN.

- d'autre part, les dossiers traités au niveau du Fonds Monétaire International.

J'ai intégré une équipe sympathique et dynamique où le travail se réalise efficacement dans un esprit convivial et respectueux de l'équilibre entre la vie professionnelle et la vie de famille. Les premiers mois, j'ai apprivoisé les matières traitées et les institutions internationales avec lesquelles nous travaillons avant de progressivement participer à des réunions internationales, à la rédaction de briefing notes, au suivi des discussions relatives aux réformes de l'architecture financière européenne et mondiale.

 
Lire tous les témoignages
Luc Stevens